The Joe Belew Award


About the Joe Belew Award

The Joe Belew Award was established to honor former CBA President, Joe Belew, for his commitment to community development. The award encourages and recognizes the efforts of CBA member banks whose innovative solutions address pressing social and community issues. The focus of the Award changes annually, with past honors spotlighting job creation, and low- and moderate-income housing programs.  The 2018 Joe Belew Award honored the applicant with the most innovative and impactful programs serving the unbanked and underbanked. 


2020 | Community Development - Apply now!

The 2020 Joe Belew Award will be presented to the CBA member-bank applicant with the most innovative and impactful community development program. In keeping with the theme of CBA LIVE 2020 and its promise of “something more,” CBA is interested in programs showcasing creative, outside-of-the-box community development initiatives serving their areas.


The will be announced at a ceremony at CBA LIVE 2020 in March in San Diego, CA. All submissions will be featured in the 2020 Joe Belew Award booklet, distributed at CBA LIVE and electronically in CBA communications.  


To Apply:



For questions or additional information, contact Maren Colon or call (202) 552-6394.  



2019 Joe Belew Award Winner

Congratulations to Woodforest National Bank, who was presented the ninth annual Joe Belew Award for its program, Woodforest Foundry.  Read more about the 2019 Joe Belew Award winners here.