CBA Announces Board Chair, Priorities

September 11, 2019
Nick Simpson


Todd Barnhart of PNC (right) today presented Nitin Mhatre of Webster Bank (left) with the CBA Board Chair gavel during CBA’s September Board Meeting. Mhatre will serve as CBA’s Board Chairman for the next year and Barnhart will remain on the CBA Board of Directors as Immediate Past Chair. Dennis Devine with KeyCorp was elected Chair-Elect. Mhatre, Barnhart and Devine will comprise CBA’s Administrative Committee, which is charged with oversight of CBA’s operations.


CBA Announces Board Leadership Transitions, Sets Advocacy Agenda for Upcoming Year


Nitin Mhatre of Webster Bank elected Chair; Dennis Devine of KeyBank elected Chair-Elect


WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Consumer Bankers Association (CBA) has elected Nitin Mhatre, Executive Vice President, Head of Community Banking at Webster Bank, as Chairman of the Board of Directors and Dennis Devine, President of Consumer Banking at KeyCorp, as Chair-Elect. Terms for CBA’s Board of Directors run from September to September.


CBA Board Chairman Nitin Mhatre said, “I’m honored to be selected as CBA’s Chairman. It is more important than ever to ensure consumers have well-regulated banking options, and we will use our collective voice in efforts to help our nation’s economy grow. I look forward to working with the Board as we engage with key stakeholders and advocate on behalf of CBA’s membership.”


CBA's Board consists of senior retail banking executives at the nation’s leading financial institutions. Taken as a whole, CBA’s membership accounts for 1.7 million jobs in America and annually extend roughly $4 trillion in consumer loans, provide $275 billion in small business loans and originate the majority of private student loans.


CBA President and CEO Richard Hunt said, “CBA’s success is a direct result of our membership and our Board of Directors is second-to-none in serving the retail banking industry by promoting sound policy and preparing the next generation of bankers. Just coming off our 100th anniversary, our goals this year reflect our industry’s commitment to serving consumers and ensuring regulations allow banks to keep up with the demands of our customers.”


Mhatre succeeds Todd Barnhart, Executive Vice President and Retail Distribution Executive at PNC Bank. Barnhart will remain on the Board as Immediate Past Chair. Mhatre, Devine and Barnhart will comprise CBA’s Administrative Committee, which is charged with oversight of CBA’s operations.


In addition to electing Mhatre and Devine to their respective leadership positions, the Board also approved CBA’s priorities for the upcoming year:

  • Highlight the Benefits & Soundness of Retail Banks: Consumers are best served within the well-regulated, well-capitalized, safe and sound banking industry. CBA will continue advocating for policies to ensure a vibrant consumer and small business banking sector which provides consumers, including the un- and under-banked, access to a variety of products and services to meet their unique needs.
  • Modernize Banking’s Regulatory Framework: CBA will work to modernize banking regulations. This includes creating a bipartisan commission at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, modernizing the Community Reinvestment Act and ensuring a level playing field, especially regarding consumer protections, with banks and non-bank financial companies.
  • Support Uniform Data Security & Consumer Protections: Banks are regulated by the most stringent data protection standards and are committed to securing customers’ personal information. CBA will continue working with policymakers, regulators and law enforcement to combat breaches and bring about a uniform standard for data protection and privacy throughout the payment system.
  • Right-Size Federal Student Lending: CBA will promote common-sense reforms to federal lending programs to ensure the government helps students with the most need while allowing the private marketplace to serve borrowers with means. These reforms will increase options for borrowers, help bring down the cost of college and reduce student debt.


CBA’s full list of Board Members for the upcoming year is below:

  • Nitin Mhatre (Chair), Webster Bank
  • Dennis Devine (Chair-Elect), KeyCorp
  • Todd Barnhart (Immediate Past Chair), PNC Bank
  • Michael Aust, Comerica
  • Ryan Bailey, Bank of the West
  • Chad Borton, USAA
  • Ross Carey, U.S. Bank
  • Todd Chamberlain, SunTrust
  • Reggie Chambers, JPMorgan Chase
  • Christine Channels, Bank of America
  • Michael Cleary, Santander
  • Brad Conner, Citizens
  • John Durrant, Capital One
  • Richard Gold, M&T Bank
  • Pierre Habis, MUFG Union
  • Andy Harmening, Huntington Bank
  • Ernie Johannson, BMO Harris Bank
  • Bob Kottler, IBERIABANK
  • Michelle Lee, Wells Fargo
  • Quincy Miller, Eastern Bank
  • Scott Peters, Regions
  • James Peterson, TD Bank
  • Tim Spence, Fifth Third Bank
  • Brant Standridge, BB&T
  • Cagri Suzer, BBVA USA




About the Consumer Bankers Association:

The Consumer Bankers Association represents America’s leading retail banks. We promote policies to create a stronger industry and economy. Established in 1919, CBA’s corporate member institutions account for 1.7 million jobs in America, extend roughly $4 trillion in consumer loans and provide $275 billion in small business loans annually. Follow us on Twitter @consumerbankers.