Congress Takes Next Steps On Tax Reform

December 8, 2017

This week, Congress took the next major step in getting a tax reform bill to the president’s desk. The House passed its version of tax reform the week before Thanksgiving, with the Senate passing its version last week. There are several differences between the two bills. As a result, a conference committee will meet to reconcile the differences.

On Monday, December 4, 2017, the House voted on a motion to proceed to conference, with the Senate voting on Wednesday to go to conference. The following House members have been named to the conference committee:  Reps. Kevin Brady (R-TX), Peter Roskam (R-IL), Devin Nunes (R-CA), Diane Black (R-TN) and Kristi Noem (R-SD), Richard Neal (D-MA), Sander Levin (D-MI), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) and Kathy Castor (D-FL).  The following Senators have been named:  Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), John Cornyn (R-TX), John Thune (R-SD), Rob Portman (R-OH),Tim Scott (R-SC), Pat Toomey (R-PA),Ron Wyden (D-OR), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Energy and Natural Resources Ranking Member Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA), Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Sen. Robert Menendez (D-NJ), and Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE).

It is expected the conference committee will reconcile the differences between the bills, and both chambers of Congress will vote on the measure before members leave for the holidays on December 22, 2017.